REVIEW: Abbath – Abbath

abbathcoverart

Label: Season of Mist

Released: 22/1/16

Like most black metal fans, I was intrigued to hear Abbath’s first solo album. Firstly because I was really curious as to how far he’d venture out from Immortal’s style. Usually when an artist goes solo, it’s because they want to pursue a new style that wouldn’t work in their current band (QUICK NOTE: I know it’s technically a band rather than a solo project, but come on. He’s using his name and predominantly writes the material). I don’t know Abbath personally but looking at how many lineup changes there were in the run up to this album, I’m guessing this solo effort is the result of the other guys in the band not wanting to work with Abbath any more.

Secondly, I’m not massively familiar with the guys work. I’ve been more exposed to his internet meme fame than I have his music, so I was looking forward to hearing what he has to offer on a musical level.

On top of the background leading into this album, I really enjoyed the songs released in the run up to it’s release. “Winterbane” is full of great riffs and frost bitten atmospheres and the same goes for “Count The Dead”.

This albums opening track “To War!” only got me more exited. It’s a song worthy of it’s title. I would happily ride into battle in the grim northern winter listening to this. These kind of moments shroud this album. “Fenrir Hunts” is another stand out track.

Ultimately, I can’t really fault this album but I wouldn’t exactly rave about it. There isn’t actually a whole lot I can say about this release. Going back to how far this ventures out from Immortal’s style, it doesn’t much. It’s more of a continuation of where Immortal left off on All Shall Fall. Like Immortal, this album doesn’t take itself too seriously. It’s fun to listen to. There are some mildly interesting moments here. “Ashes Of The Damned” has a surprising but brief horn section, but there isn’t really anything with real depth. But I wouldn’t have expected that. “Endless” concludes this adventure with ferocious blasts and triumphant chords. A worthy finish. Nothing mind-blowing, just to the point black metal.


7/10

Favourite tracks: Winterbane, Count The Dead, Fenrir Hunts